Search engines and precision

We all know how the story goes when searching the web using tools like Google and Yahoo. Type in your keywords, hit the search button, and then prepare to sift through hundreds of thousand of results. Google and Yahoo do a fairly good job of relevancy ranking, but wouldn’t it be nice if you could throw out all the garbage before you examine your results. You can achieve this by utilizing the advanced search features of the search engine.

Google advanced search

For example, Google allows you to limit your search to a specific domain or range of domains. When conducting academic research, why not limit your search to education websites (.edu). Need to find government reports on poverty? Limit your search to government websites (.gov). Using the advanced search is an great way to narrow your results down to a target universe of relevant websites. With the Web growing exponentially, it makes sense to search only the portions that are meaningful to you.

Domain Limit

3 Responses to “Search engines and precision”


  1. 1 tahoe equipment July 5, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    Appreciate your any informative blog site. The place different may well I get that kind of info printed in this type of fantastic technique? I’ve got a enterprise i’m just now managing on, and I’ve been recently for the check for this kind of information.

  2. 2 retifica de motores sp August 1, 2013 at 7:43 am

    I savour, result in I found just what I used to be taking a look for.
    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a great day. Bye

  3. 3 pocket mine rubies hack no survey May 15, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none
    the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous
    websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there
    a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Leave a Reply

